Greek in Italy

Project Research Blog

The British School at Rome

Leave a comment

Jpeg

This term I have taken up a Rome Award at the British School at Rome, and I’m happy to say I’ve got here in one piece and I’m spending this weekend settling in before starting on some proper research on Monday.

The BSR is a UK and Commonwealth research institution dating back to the beginning of the twentieth century. It has a fantastic library and location – both of which are important to doing exciting new research. But the best thing about the BSR is the people. This unusual community brings together people from all over the world, including Classicists, historians, art historians, theologians, political scientists, architects, painters, sculptors – and those are just the residents I’ve met in the last twenty-four hours. As well as the resident scholars, most of whom are here for three months or more, many scholars and artists come to visit to use the BSR’s accommodation and beautiful library, or to attend a conference or lecture.

I’m very excited to take up this opportunity to see lots of new inscriptions and museums around Italy, and I’m sure I’ll be posting many more pictures and blog posts from Rome, Florence, Capua and many other sites I’m planning to visit. I’ll be here from January to March, so if you happen to be in Rome or visiting the BSR, please feel free to get in touch. And if you’re thinking of applying for an award for next year, you still have time – the deadline for applications is on the 14th of January!

Leave a Reply

